COMMISSIONERS



18 WILLOW AVE MONMOUTH BEACH, NJ 07750 TEL (732) 229-2204 Ext. 1000 FAX (732) 870-8245

JOYCE L. ESCALANTE, R.M.C. Borough Clerk

MATTHEW J. PALMER CMFO/CTC

LAWRENCE M. BOLSCH Director of Revenue & Finance

TIMOTHY SOMERS

Environmental Commission Meeting

January 17, 2024

The meeting of the Environmental Commission was called to order by Chairman, Mark Cohen, in compliance with Section 5 of the Open Public Meeting Act, Chapter 231, Public Law 1975, the public and press have been notified of the Environmental Commission meeting of the Borough of Monmouth Beach.

Roll Call:

Present: Mark Cohen, Chairman

Brian Thompson Colette Buchanan Mayor David Stickle Betsy Palazzo-Dudik Sandy Van Sant Ann Gilmartin Louis Tocci

Absent: Anthony Moro

Administrative

- Chairman Cohen read the abovementioned statement.
- 2024 Meeting dates have been approved and will start at 7:00pm
- (see attached)
- Mayor Stickle reappointed the following members
 - \circ Ann Gilmartin 1/1/2024 12/31/2026
 - \circ Louis Tocci 1/1/2024 12/31/2026
 - \circ David Stickle 1/1/2024 12/31/2026

Old Business

• Rain Garden – Betsy will follow up and report back next month.

New Business

- **Skip the Stuff** Submit the Maplewood Ordinance on Skip the Stuff to Monmouth Beach Commissioners for approval. Motioned by Brian Thompson, second by Colette Buchanan, was 5aya to 2nay vote.
- State Energy Planning Grants Request that a resolution to be made so the Environmental Committee can apply for the grant. Motioned by Brian Thompson, second by Sandy Van Saint, all agreed.
- **Barn Owl Nest Boxes** Colette spoke about the program that Monmouth County has regarding the Owl Nest Boxes.
- **Renewal of ANJEC** All approved for renewal of the ANJEC. Motioned by Colette Buchanan, second by Betsey Palazzo-Dudick, all agreed.
- **Murphy vetoes bill to battle invasive plant species** everyone will do their own research and will be put on the agenda for February meeting.

Planning Board Agenda Items

•	No planning Board Applications to review.

Meeting adjourned at 9:00pm.

Submitted by:

Barbara Maguire Environmental Commission Secretary